The Pittsburgh Basketball Club is proud to announce the formation of the Edward Wovchko Summer League Most Valuable Player Award for the top player in our Summer League Championships.

The award is named after legendary Cornell Basketball Coach Ed Wovchko, who created a dynasty a Class A dynasty at Cornell High School, leading the Raiders to 8 Section Championships, 4 WPIAL Championships, 4 PIAA State Final Four appearances and 1 PIAA runner up in his outstanding career. Ed also led Montour High School to resurgence in 2 separate coaching stints, winning the schools 1st section championship in the mid 80’s and leading the Spartans again to a WPIAL Final Four appearance in 2001.

Considered by many to be one of the top skill trainers in WPIAL history, “Wo” is highly regarded in utilizing the summer months as the training grounds for the skills and toughness required for competing for championships on an annual basis. The Summer League MVP award is a aptly named award for Wo, who developed skills in July in exchange for championship Gold in March.

Coach Wovchko remains active in our area basketball as an evaluator for our Next Factors Spotlight Training Camps, as well as our All America Showcase, where his astute eye for talent is utilized to determine our area’s nominations for the prestigious national ABCD and Camp Next events hosted by Sonny Vaccaro.

The Pittsburgh Basketball Club is honored to name our Summer League MVP award for this outstanding Coach and person.

YEAR Champion Playoff MVP
 1994 OLSH Chris Kirkland
 1995 OLSH Chris Kirkland
 1996 Quaker Valley Andy Wormsley
 1997 New Castle David Young
 1998 Shaler Yuri Demetrious
 1999 Aliquippa Josh Lay
 2000 Aliquippa Monroe Weekly
 2001 Aliquippa Darelle  Reavis
 2002 Plum Bobby Franklin
 2003 Moon Duane Compo
 2004 Sewickley Acadmey Antonio DiMaria
 2005 Beaver Falls Lance Jeter
 2006 Bethel Park Mike Papp
 2007 North Allegheny Ted Connolly
 2008 Beaver Falls Todd Thomas
 2009 Char Valley TJ McConnell