The Pittsburgh Basketball Club is proud to announce the formation of the Richard Cetrone Coach of the Year Award for Western PA’s top regular season coach.

The award is named after legendary Sto-Rox Basketball Coach Dick Cetrone, who was the founding father of the Sto-Rox Basketball dynasty, winning 1 State championship, 5 WPIAL Championships as well as 10 Section Titles.

Considered by many to be one of Stowe Township’s best players, Coach Cetrone was the 1st basketball player from this basketball tradition rich area to earn a Division I scholarship, attending the University of Cincinnati where he was a team mate of basketball legend Oscar Robertson.

In Coach Cetrone’s star-studded coaching career career, his 1983 State Championship team was Pennsylvania’s last undefeated state champion.

Coach remains active in our area basketball as an evaluator for our Next Factors Spotlight Training Camps, where his astute eye for talent is utilized to determine our area’s nominations for the prestigious national ABCD and Camp Next events hosted by Sonny Vaccaro.

The Pittsburgh Basketball Club is honored to name our coach of the year award for this outstanding Coach and person. Each year, we will have a list of 4-6 nominations by vote of area coaches and media for this annual award with the winner being announced in the fall, prior to the tip off of the new season.

Winner Joe David –
Mt Lebanon
Mike Mastrionni-
Bethel Park
Nominee Ben O’Connor-
Fox Chapel
Hal Minford-
Andy Hedrick- Blackhawk
Nominee Mike Mastrionni-
Bethel Park
Ron Rowan-
Doug Biega-
Beaver Falls
Nominee Dave DeGregorio-
North Allegheny
Fred Skrocki-
Chuck Crummie-Central Catholic
Nominee Jeff Ackerman-
Doug Biega-
Beaver Falls
Kevin Reid-
Nominee Fred Skrocki-Schenley Marvin Emmerson-
Jeff Ackerman-
Nominee     Bob Rozanski-
Serra Catholic